htaccess tip for Namecheap web hosting

I just set up a new WordPress site under my new NameCheap.com’s Reseller account. Setting up the sub-account was easy, and so was the “one-click” installation of WordPress via the cPanel.

Before installing WordPress, I’d created a static index.html welcome page, and which continued to appear even after I installed WordPress and made a couple of posts. To “fix” this, I renamed the static page, which is when I noticed the next problem: It was taking forever to load my WordPress front page.

This lead to me to think that perhaps the .htaccess file hadn’t been created by WordPress on installation, as that is supposed to steer all requests to WordPress instead of to a static page such as index.html or default.html. So, I checked the contents of the .htaccess file. Not only was it there, with the correct permissions, but it even had what looked to be the correct code.

I went back into cPanel and created a Redirect to see what code Namecheap used. It was almost identical to the standard WordPress redirect code, but with one difference.

Instead of starting the redirect with:

RewriteEngine on

It started the redirect with:

RewriteOptions inherit
RewriteEngine on

I manually edited the .htaccess file to preface the “RewriteEngine on” directive with “RewriteOptions inherit,” and right away the front page of my WordPress install started loading immediately, as expected.

So, I guess this is really two tips in one. First, if you’re hosting a WordPress blog on Namecheap, check your rewrite directives if you’re having problems with load times, or other similar problems.

Second, if you’re using another web hosting provider and WordPress doesn’t seem to be responding as you expect, use cPanel to create your own redirect and compare the code generated by your hosting provider against the standard code generated by WordPress.

