WP mobile

Well, the tide of progress finally overtook me, which means that it was time to think about how to make my various WordPress sites and site sections more friendly to visitors with mobile devices. As a long-time user of Mac computers, I was thinking mostly of the iPhone and related devices, but if a solution worked for them and Blackberries and whatever else is out there, more the better.

I tried three or four different plug-ins, and either they seemed more complicated than needed, weren’t confirmed to work on my version of WordPress, or were ugly to look at. I was just about to give up when I came across a reply to a reply to a blog entry that WordPress.com uses WPtouch.

Now, I have no way of knowing if this is the case, but I immediately liked it. It installs easily, works right out of the (virtual) box, and presents entries is an aesthetically pleasing way. It even offers visitors a way to view the site without the mobile interface.

So if you’re looking for a way to offer your site for mobile devices, check out WPtouch.


 

Update 2014: WPtouch not doubt is still a good option in some circumstances, but why not just build a responsive site to begin with?

