WP 2.8 weirdness

So, I updated each of my WP installations from 2.71 to 2.8. I started on my local instance, to verify that everything was working the way I expected. It was, so I upgraded one of my client accounts, and it worked fine, too.

Then I tried upgrading one of my personal WP instances to 2.8. It was a near disaster. Oh, the upgrade itself went fine, but it went downhill from there.

First, the Dashboard news items weren’t loading. I didn’t think too much about that, but it did seem odd. The main problems were:

  1. Trying to add a new category to an entry was futile. I could click on the “+ Add category” link endlessly with nothing happening, and
  2. The “save” button for editing templates was missing.

I tried everything I could, including disabling Google Gears, removing Google Gears, reinstalling Google Gears, deleting all the WP files and uploading afresh from a new download, etc. Nothing worked. I posted questions in both the WordPress fora and Feedback, with no responses.

So, I gave up for the better part of two days.

Today, I got back into it, and low and behold, the news items appeared right away on the Dashboard page. OK, maybe WP was overwhelmed with hits and wasn’t able to serve RSS feeds to populate those areas when I first upgraded. No problem.

Next, I went into an entry and clicked on the “+ Add category” button. It worked! I typed in a new category and hit save. That’s when I got this error message:

Warning: Cannot modify header information – headers already sent by (output started at /Users/accountname/quotes/wp-config.php:153) in/Users/accountname/quotes/wp-includes/classes.php on line 1586

I’d never seen that one before, but when I looked at the blog, it was fine. I went back into WP, and the entry itself was fine, too.

So I opened wp-config.php and had a look at line 153. Like line 152, line 153 was blank. So, I deleted both lines, saved, and tried again. With no other changes, WP 2.8 started allowing me to add categories and make new entries without any error message. Pretty wild, huh? Of course, this is the only file that I held over from the previous install of 2.71 — everything else was new.

There is still no “save” button in the template editor, but I can call up the template files in Fetch for editing in BBEdit, so this isn’t a huge issue.

I have no idea why this worked, but I thought I’d pass it along.

One thought on “WP 2.8 weirdness

  1. Hello,

    I have found your website through search. Got some problems with my site. Could no longer view it. I’m on WP 2.8.3 and was editing my blog posts when suddenly my admin dashboard disappeared. Have contacted the technical support staff at Godaddy but unfortunately their recommendations didn’t work. I’m looking around for solutions to the problem. Somehow you can help. When you will view my website in any browser,what you’ll see is just a blank page.

    Thanks!

Comments are closed.